Samantha's Diary.. 
NoteBook.........   

2004-03-16 - 11:08 a.m.

Our Family and Farm

I met my husband while tubing down the Guadalupe River in Canyon Lake. To make a long story short he tried to drown me by dunking me in the water hahaha. When he finally brought me up for air and held me in his arms I looked at him while coughing and choking and fell in love with him.

 

Two months of dating only on the weekends cause he was in Army and I was working as Riding Director at Girl Scout camp for summer he got orders to leave to Germany. It was either say goodbye or get married. Fifth teen years later we have never regretted it. We spent many years in Europe where my husband was also in Desert Storm and I waited like a good military wifes for his return later we explored Europe together for our long awaited honey moon.

We got stationed in the East coast later bought our first house and had my daughter in North Carolina at Fort Bragg. My husband was injured in a Parachute accident while stationed there and we got rid of our house, paid off our bills and got an early out of Service thanks to the Clinton admistrators for deactivating the service at that time we had little choice.

We decided to go where the jobs were and at that time it was San Antonio. My husband still hurting from his injurys and couldn�t work much didn�t get his disability till three years later. They kept losing his records. Senator Hutchision , Thank you Senator and her staff managed to track down his records and we were able to catch up with our bills and get our feet back on the ground.

With medical care now and time my husband healed a bit and he got into the computer field which he Mastered and became very successful in it he got a wonderful job in San Antonio. A year after that I was able to quit my job and stay home with my daughter who was at the time in a daycare from 6am in morning till 6pm at night. I don�t think there was not one day that I didn�t cry for her.

I tried putting my daughter in a private kinder garden school however they were so advanced and pushed the kids so much I was doing home work with my daughter after school at least 2-3 hours a night. She was stressed I was stressed and I got in an argument with the teacher and her progress. She wanted to hold my daughter back I wanted to go through summer with a tutor or summer school to pass her. In the end we pulled her out and I started home schooling for the first time.

I got a hold of FEAST a homeschool store at the time they introduced me with information about homeschooling, and they connected me to HAVEN my first homeschool group. I tried to get with this other one but can you imagine they had a waiting list for a year! A year later they called me and I told them NO THANK YOU. I was happy with HAVEN great coordinator for group and Miranda loved the partys and gatherings they had.

About three passed and we currently were living in a rental house my husband came home with an ad he�s friend gave him at work. 75 acre ranch house in Medina county for sale. He wanted to go look at it. We thought for sure maybe it was a mistake maybe it was 7.5 acres not 75 acres for $149,000 but we called her up and nope it was 75 acres. We thought for sure maybe it was an old trailer shack, but it was a three bedroom 2 bath house with enclosed porch and garage we fell in love. We spent three years at this ranch but since the mortgage was so high for us we never had extra money to fix it up any. The road was horrible and it kept tearing up my car, which in turn gave us huge car bills and we put thousands into fixing the road only to have it swallowed up by the sand a few weeks later. Still it was nice and peaceful out there and I loved the wild flowers.

>

One day I kept hearing bulldozers and other equipment coming from our neighbor�s 500 acre ranch. We found out they sold out to developers and they were making little 1-5 acres tracks all around us. We panicked. The thought of that many people around us made us sick to our stomach�s. We could pictured there dogs running wild on our property getting into our livestalk, the people climbing over our fence to illegally hunt and being city folks might end up hitting one of our animals instead or Lord help us one of us!

A few weeks later they came and offered us money for our land. A lot of money, twice the amount we bought it for if we would try to sell it just as a whole to one person not developing it. I didn�t want to move, unless we found another place. I book marked every local realtor website out there. Then one day I found one I liked I was drawn to it cause of the Pecan trees 15 full grown ones it says, two houses, I thought of my mom in one house and it had tons of barns, two of them with one shed and one garage for car.

We came to look at it and for second time fell in love with this place. Another couple was looking at it at the time and promised to make an offer on it but never did. We were lucky. The place didn�t have 15-pecan tree�s it had over 50 an orchard of large trees! We were also thrilled to find a canal running all around the property, and the house was on city water but it did have its own well. We were thrilled. Getting water out here was one of the major things we were looking at if getting a new place. The canal would water our fields for as little as $12 an acre. The place also had tons of grass on it in field already made coastal and around house St. Augustine grass. At the other place we didn�t have any grass no matter how much I tried to plant it, the grasshoppers, chickens and dogs tore it up!

My parents are thrilled to have a little fixer up house so they can finally retire on. We were able to pay off our other ranch and put a large chunk down on our new property making the payments lower. We decided not to pay it off cause the rate was so low we decided to pay off the loans and other bills we had and fix the car�s up instead with the extra money. Also it�s nice at tax time to have that deducted. We also treated ourself�s to a CD player and brand new tv which we never had before in all our years of marriage usually just hand me downs.

We ended up also putting a fence around the whole property and that�s about where we stand right now. We have been fixing up here and there and it�s dream property. Our chickens love it here and they are laying tons now. Our goats and sheep recently just got here the other day and have been stuffing their bellys with grass now. The rabbits have been secure and very dry in one of the old barns but we still have to build them their own place. Our new batch of chicks is coming in next week replacements for my layers. A processing center needs to be build etc�.in all its been nice living here it will be 4 months when I write

rambling - Typical homeschool day

     

Texas Flower the Bluebonnet
�
�
Welcome to my Diary notebook site:
I am just a simple country wife 42yrs living with my wonderful husband Tom for 19yrs. I have two children Tommy 7yrs and Miranda 14yrs and tons of animals. We live on 15 acres south of San Antonio Tx with a pecan orchard. These our my notes more than a diary on living for my family, organizing, homeschooling, health and being closer to God . Again this is for me, if you have a problem with the way I write hey this is free country go away but have a nice day!
�
�
Please sign my Guestbook
�
�
�
Isaiah 54:13 "And all thy children shall be taught of the Lord, and great shall be the peace of thy children�

Dont mess with Texas! Instead come visit us! Click on Texas to check us out!

"Texas is a State of mind. Texas is an obsessioni. Above all, Texas is a nation in every sense of the word." "John Steinbeck

Clip Art by Lisa

Grammar Queens and Kings Not wanted here, nor do I want your unwanted posts. This site can be dangerous to your health! Read here for more info on it. Click Here

Ok this is put here as a joke but if you really want to help me collect money to buy my cow with all the equipment I wont say no, so click on the cow to donate, cause I really do have a cow fund started to save for a future milking cow for our family

"Click here for full story"

Do you yahoo??????? "Ldytutor" Or catch me on Home school Chat forum at Donna's site Click on Forums

Hi its me! Thanks for visting this Diary Notebook please leave something

in my guest book or leave a quick message or catch me on my yahoo.........
Texas, ranching, farm, mom, wife, kids, family, diet, organizing, frugal, San Antonio, homestead, range, housewife, recipes, Homeschooling