Samantha's Diary.. 
NoteBook.........   

2003-03-29 - 10:10 p.m.

Typical Sunday?

"Reporters thrive on the world's misfortune. For this reason they often take an indecent pleasure in events that dismay the rest of humanity."

-Russell Baker, The Good Times, 1989

Sundays is our family time. We used to go to church but we haven�t in a long time. Not cause we stopped believing in God but because Tommy is a handful and I spent most my time in the back room with him to try to keep him quiet. Trust me we tried everything, from trying to discipline him to bribing him with toys and some food to keep him quiet. We even took turns taking him out. In the end I was always in the back by myself not a part of the congregation or my family.

Some people say you should go anyways and not care what the other people think or say when your child is screaming but we do care. It's strange how we used to be all stressed out trying to get to church in the mornings sometimes not even talking to each other cause we upset one another over something little. Trying to buy new clothes for the kids and myself that would fit us. Luckily husband always stayed same size but I and the kids out grow them or in my case I just dont feel like getting in a modeling contest with other women in church. Uniform schools why not uniform church? I wish...Stress is not worth it. We have been so much happier and comunicating so much more then before. God is worth it that is why...

There is not one night or day that we don�t pray to God and ask him for another good day and thank him for everything he has given to us and others. We pray for every meal we eat. I recently bought a devotional book for my daughter and myself to go over together. On some weekends my husband will read from the bible to us. Spending time with my family is important I think it brings us together closer to God too.

As he gets older we will probably go back to church. I feel closer to God when I go to the old folks center and give them eggs to eat for the week. I know they are getting fed. I feel good saying afternoon or morning to them and asking how they are doing. I see genuine smiles there and so is mine. Someday when Tommy is older we will do the meals on wheels program.

Today we woke and had cream of wheat with toast. I had closed the chicken coop last night. We were going to collect roosters. It is also a good time to count our chickens. We have lost a few but it was to be expected in a year. Some from hawks, a few drowned in the trough and some might have been carried off when they were feeding in the woods. We have to many of the roosters so it was a great time to try out our new chicken plucker, which just came in. The last time we butchered roosters it took over 20min to pluck just one. Now with our plucker it only takes a few seconds. Still with 6 roosters it took us 2hrs.

The reason for this is we were trying to get things together. Tables had to put up, water hoses moved and brought over, knifes, bags, paper towels, ice, temperature gauge, pitchers the scalder had to be set up and warmed a make shift cone had to be made. We decided to move everything under our big tree near where the cars are parked near. It�s a huge oak tree with plenty of shade. I also had to discover my job. I couldn�t stomach cutting the roosters neck I couldn�t even look as my husband as he did it. I could hold on to the legs while he did it. Once cut the rooster would slowly fade away.

Sounds harsh but any dieing is going to be harsh on an animal. Wringing its neck or stunning them with stung gun, which they do in most big factors is cruel to me. Sometimes they don�t die and end up being scalded alive. I couldn�t stomach the actual cutting up of the bird either. Once while my husband demonstrated to me on cutting the chicken the voice cord actually made a sound like a chicken and I got freaked. Husband laughed. I looked at him and said, �umm maybe in a few months!�

I ended up grabbing the rooster from the cone when it finally died and put it in the scalder. We had to have it a certain temperature to hot would tear the skin off. To cold no feathers would come off even with plucker I kept track of it. We had daughter timing it for a minute. I then placed it in the chicken plucker turned on the hose and turned it on. I made sure it didn�t get stuck which sometimes it did. When done

I placed it on cutting board for husband to cut up and gut. After he did that I cleaned it up inside and out and placed in a container of cold water and ice. Later I bagged it and placed it in the freezer. We found out our jobs and it worked out ok. We just cant wait to get enough money for cement and material for a make shift outdoor kitchen with sink and cutting boards and a screen to keep the flys out. It was too cold for flys but as it gets hotter they will come.

We have two tables father gave us and we just need to get some metal to place on top of it. It would be a lot cheaper then buying table with it already on it. It was hard at the end to clean up the plucker to get all the feathers off but in all it went well. We found out our jobs and what we needed in the future. We need larger aprons and gloves and I forgot to buy more ice etc. Long day but very tiring, thank goodness son slept for most the two hours.

Weekend - Spring time

     

Texas Flower the Bluebonnet
�
�
Welcome to my Diary notebook site:
I am just a simple country wife 42yrs living with my wonderful husband Tom for 19yrs. I have two children Tommy 7yrs and Miranda 14yrs and tons of animals. We live on 15 acres south of San Antonio Tx with a pecan orchard. These our my notes more than a diary on living for my family, organizing, homeschooling, health and being closer to God . Again this is for me, if you have a problem with the way I write hey this is free country go away but have a nice day!
�
�
Please sign my Guestbook
�
�
�
Isaiah 54:13 "And all thy children shall be taught of the Lord, and great shall be the peace of thy children�

Dont mess with Texas! Instead come visit us! Click on Texas to check us out!

"Texas is a State of mind. Texas is an obsessioni. Above all, Texas is a nation in every sense of the word." "John Steinbeck

Clip Art by Lisa

Grammar Queens and Kings Not wanted here, nor do I want your unwanted posts. This site can be dangerous to your health! Read here for more info on it. Click Here

Ok this is put here as a joke but if you really want to help me collect money to buy my cow with all the equipment I wont say no, so click on the cow to donate, cause I really do have a cow fund started to save for a future milking cow for our family

"Click here for full story"

Do you yahoo??????? "Ldytutor" Or catch me on Home school Chat forum at Donna's site Click on Forums

Hi its me! Thanks for visting this Diary Notebook please leave something

in my guest book or leave a quick message or catch me on my yahoo.........
Texas, ranching, farm, mom, wife, kids, family, diet, organizing, frugal, San Antonio, homestead, range, housewife, recipes, Homeschooling