Samantha's Diary.. 
NoteBook.........   

2004-04-06 - 10:31 a.m.

The Hired help

Quote for the day: "People seldom refuse help, if one offers it in the right way."

-A. C. Benson

The phone conversation goes something like this��

I dial the number it rings��someone picks it up�..no one says anything�

Me: �Ummm hello? I finally say

Hired help: Reluctantly.. �Yah?�

Me: �Ummm is this Mr. contractor?

Hired help: �Yah�

Me: �Do you work on �(I mention what ever I needed fixing)

Hired help: �Yah�

Me: Thinking I am speaking to someone I really don�t want at my house now. I say, �Ok just checking bye�

Believe it or not this has happened a lot since we have moved to our new house and looked for contractors for different projects. I feel like I am calling them and they sound like they are doing me a favor. Some don�t even bother calling back if I leave a message. Some numbers are not even working any more.

I�ve called the city hall for each town and the Chamber of commerce and asked them do you have a list of names for contractors in your area. �Of course not they would say�, I sort of add on myself in my mind, cause that would give us to much work and we are not here to help you. Instead I say thank you and hang up.

So I look in the newspaper and it seems those listed in the newspaper don�t even bother calling back. Though I did recently had some luck with a satellite guy. Rather then call Dish network to come find out what was wrong with our tv/dish and they would charge us $140 just to come look I hired this guy and he came right away for $40 and fixed the problem.

Our fencing guy who recently completely fencing in our 15 acres said that there was a lot of competition for fencing and he was glad I called him. I smiled at him and said nothing. Little did he realize he was the only one to answer my call for fencing.

Around here if you don�t find someone in the local phone book that would cost and arm and a leg to hire then the other option besides the newspaper is to look at the bulletin board at the Feed store, the old grocery store, and lumber place.

I went to ask a local church member that owned a store near us if he would recommend someone for a certain project. �Well he said, I could but I wouldn�t use them myself.� He then went to answer his phone and I just waved at him though he didn�t see me anymore engrossed in his phone conversation.

When I do find someone that has been working out, the fencer, the plumber, the satellite guy, the air conditioner man, the phone guy, I have been guarding their business cards like they are gold!

Recently I have been watching a lot of the old program, �Green acres� I watched a marathon one night when I couldn�t sleep. This is a city guy lawyer who takes his city gal wife and move out in the country in this really hick town far from anything and the place is really run down.

I laugh as they hire the Pixel brothers. A brother and sister team to add on to their room. About a year into the episode they still haven�t finished it and forgot to get the permit too for the room a year ago.

I laugh, as the waiting time for a phone line is over six months! The town people comment, �Wow only six months you must know someone at the phone company!�

And when they finally get it in they have to climb a telephone pole to answer or make calls and have to talk to the local operator each time. I laugh as they finally put in a meter to find it doesn�t work and have to send it back only to wait another year for it to come from Japan where it was made.

I am falling over laughing as they find out their property is in three counties and the town that they live in are mad at them for moving! �We didn�t move he screams at them� and they take away is newly required phone and turn off his electricity and condemn his house cause in the new county the standards are not met.

I am in tears as he try�s to get his mail delivered to his house and poor Sam the store owner has to ride his bike over 60 miles each day to do it and the town wants to tar and feather him cause now the store is closed.

I am looking out my window right now wiping the tears from laughter from my eyes as I see the trash men come pick up our trash. I might add to that this is the only trashmen that would come to our area. They grab my trashcans and the lids go flying to our ditch and the other lid goes right in the middle of the road where we drive trashcans lay everywhere.

They hop on their trucks to go to the next house to cause destruction. The last time this happened that was similar to this was in San Antonio, I called and complained and the next few other times they were a bit nicer to my trashcans.

This time I just blink at what they do, and calmly go over to our trashcans and bring them in, at least I say I have trashcan service, and at least they didn�t throw it on the road. I smile as I recall more episodes of �Green acres� maybe I should call this �Pecan acres? Didn�t I mention our roof is leaking now too? And we just fixed our sewage pipes under the house that was draining under our house since Dec? �..Smiles�..sigh�.

Farm and family Report: Rabbits doing good hoping out of boxes now. They are old enough to leave mommy I think. Chicks are flying up on brooder box they are ready to come out. Just need for Tom to put cover on new chicken coop for them.

Puppies eyes are opening they are so fat they grunt if you pick them up. Chickens are laying more then I can sell time to go to senior citizen place soon again to give donation. Kittens were born and moved already due to rain, three white one black and white. Kittens for sale!

Help me I am drowning! - Easter Bunny Lady

     

Texas Flower the Bluebonnet
�
�
Welcome to my Diary notebook site:
I am just a simple country wife 42yrs living with my wonderful husband Tom for 19yrs. I have two children Tommy 7yrs and Miranda 14yrs and tons of animals. We live on 15 acres south of San Antonio Tx with a pecan orchard. These our my notes more than a diary on living for my family, organizing, homeschooling, health and being closer to God . Again this is for me, if you have a problem with the way I write hey this is free country go away but have a nice day!
�
�
Please sign my Guestbook
�
�
�
Isaiah 54:13 "And all thy children shall be taught of the Lord, and great shall be the peace of thy children�

Dont mess with Texas! Instead come visit us! Click on Texas to check us out!

"Texas is a State of mind. Texas is an obsessioni. Above all, Texas is a nation in every sense of the word." "John Steinbeck

Clip Art by Lisa

Grammar Queens and Kings Not wanted here, nor do I want your unwanted posts. This site can be dangerous to your health! Read here for more info on it. Click Here

Ok this is put here as a joke but if you really want to help me collect money to buy my cow with all the equipment I wont say no, so click on the cow to donate, cause I really do have a cow fund started to save for a future milking cow for our family

"Click here for full story"

Do you yahoo??????? "Ldytutor" Or catch me on Home school Chat forum at Donna's site Click on Forums

Hi its me! Thanks for visting this Diary Notebook please leave something

in my guest book or leave a quick message or catch me on my yahoo.........
Texas, ranching, farm, mom, wife, kids, family, diet, organizing, frugal, San Antonio, homestead, range, housewife, recipes, Homeschooling